×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Ether spectacle On tour ×

45 min, 2 dancers

This duo is the fourth part in a series of choreographic works in convergence with visual arts initiated by Philippe Saire. The new production plays on the evanescence of bodies in a smoked-filled and vanishing point-structured space, on the line between presence and absence.
In Black Out (2011), the movements of three dancers on white canvas drew shapes in black material. The audience, standing atop the stage, observed as both physical and graphic compositions were created and then undone. NEONS Never Ever, Oh! Noisy Shadows (2014) introduced the use of neon lights, in the glow of which two bodies appeared in chiaroscuro. The elaborate interplay of apparitions and disappearances continued in Vacuum (2015), where glimmers of the dancers’ flesh created a strange and mesmerising poetry that was both cold and delicate.
Ether furthers this reflection under the premise of two elements: a stage structured with a vanishing point and fumes. What these have in common is that they visually relate to disappearance and haziness respectively, through distance and the opacification of the air. With this combined effect, moving bodies acquire new and uncertain materiality.
With the success of Black Out (over 180 performances across the world) and the rise of the recent Vacuum (which has been performed almost 100 times), Philippe Saire cultivates the desire to create constantly reinvented formats.


Stage Design
This new project forms part of the Dispositifs series, in which spatial and lighting structures are the basis of the projects. Although the works focus on movement as well as on narration and images, it is the latter that lies at the root of the creative process.
In order to gain control of the smoke and the images created, the stage design includes a smoke aspiration and ventilation system as well as original sources of smoke. By definition difficult to contain, smoke is here confined to a triangular set where the stage manager can make it appear and disappear at will.
Apart from the interesting spatial constraint in terms of choreography, the walls structured into a vanishing point contribute to structuring the light and shade of the perspective, and to giving the whole production a pictorial dimension.
Choreography
Following the principle of this series, research is focused on image and dance. The image of the body is positioned in this specific “vanishing” space. The image of its materiality is in contrast with the evanescence of smoke, the way the body interacts with the smoke, whether it takes shelter in the smoke or tries to escape it or whether it fights it off or gradually assumes its shape.
Edward Hopper’s paintings with their timeless postures of bodies intuitively influenced the choice of a duo between a man and a woman. The relationship between the two performers, initially visual and spatial that is gradually built up, is based on tension between the material and the immaterial, which the stage design expresses.
In this series of choreographic pieces, if a narrative element is added, it comes second, as does the degree of narration. The beautiful images that developed with our technical research compelled the dancers to find their rightful place and work at times together on the design or leave room for just one or the other.
Clouds and smoke are iconic elements of individual imagination. Thus, the narrative is meant to remain open, and the smoke can be assimilated with either memories or fantasies.


We do not know which night we come from, or which night we are heading towards. We do not know if we were born at this date or in the depth of ages. We do not know if we are someone or just anybody. We do not know if we have a name or not. We do not know how the rustling woods of our youth has become the metallic jungle of the city. We do not know if that blazing spotlight is an obsessive memory or the State arresting us. We do not know if the noise of our footsteps is the sound of our bones in our flesh. We do not know if the sound that pulses in our ears comes from a ball or our heart. We do not know if our laughter is a scream. We do not know if the air dilates or consumes us. We do not know if we should move or stand still. We do not know if we should show ourselves or remain hidden. We do not know if we should sing or shut up. We do not know if our gesticulations are an expression of bravery or terror. We do not know if our actions are convulsions.
We do not know if the walls surrounding us are those of a shelter or a prison. We do not know if the floor is a piece of the sky. We do not know if our peers are looking after us or if they are gone. We do not know if they are watching us or if they are blind. We do not know if they love us or cheat on us. We do not know if we need them to be alone. We do not know if we should keep our records or erase them. We do not know if we are tired or if we are about to die. We do not know if we are stopping down at the ground to perceive our origins or dissolve ourselves in it. We do not know how to transform the passing time into a feeling of eternity. We do not know if the breath that takes us into death is borne from emptiness or stirred up by the gods. Not knowing has no effect on those who follow us. They carry on.

Christophe Gallaz, 2003


Is the study of fleeting images a subject? As images of aerial imagination, they either evaporate or crystallise. And it is between the two poles of this ever-active ambivalence that we must grasp them. The word “cloud” is right away evidence of this ambivalence between reality and imagination. Readers will immediately see what they want: a view or a vision, an outlined reality or a dreamt movement. What we ask of them is that they not only experience this dialectic, these alternate states, but also that they gather them into an ambivalence where we can grasp that reality is an ideal power and that dreams are a reality. Alas! The moment in this antechamber is short. One must admit that we soon see or we soon dream. We then become either the mirror of forms or the silent slave of inert matter.


Concept and choreography
Philippe Saire


Choreography in collaboration with the dancers
Marthe Krummenacher, David Zagari


Smoke and light design
Antoine Friderici


Sound design
Stéphane Vecchione


Costumes
Tania D'Ambrogio


Set construction
Hervé Jabveneau


Direction technique
Vincent Scalbert


Photography
Philippe Weissbrodt


Supports and partners
City of Lausanne, Canton de Vaud, Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council, Fondation de Famille Sandoz.


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ TECHNICAL RIDER

Past dates

Lausanne (CH)
25.04.2018
29.04.2018
22.05.2018
25.05.2018
Zürich (CH)
06.10.2018
07.10.2018

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Ether spectacle En tournée ×

45 min, deux danseurs

Ce duo est le quatrième volet d’une série de pièces chorégraphiques en convergence avec les arts visuels initiée par Philippe Saire. Cette nouvelle pièce joue sur l’évanescence des corps dans un espace en point de fuite et enfumé, à la frontière entre la présence et l’absence.
Dans Black Out (2011), les mouvements de trois danseurs dessinaient comme sur une toile des formes dans une matière noire. Les spectateurs, placés en surplomb, observaient se faire et se défaire des compositions corporelles et graphiques. NEONS Never Ever, Oh ! Noisy Shadows (2014) introduisait l’usage de néons, à la lueur desquels apparaissaient en clair-obscur deux corps. Le jeu soigneusement élaboré des apparitions et disparitions se poursuivait dans Vacuum (2015), où l’affleurement de la chair dans la lumière lui conférait une étrange et hypnotique poésie, froide et délicate.
Ether poursuit cette démarche en faisant de deux éléments ses prémisses : un espace scénique en point de fuite et un jeu avec la fumée. Ces deux aspects ont en commun de traiter visuellement de la disparition et de l’indétermination, respectivement par un éloignement accentué et par le trouble de l’image par la fumée. Par leur effet conjugué, les corps en mouvement y acquièrent une matérialité nouvelle et incertaine.
Fort du succès de Black Out (plus de 180 représentations) et de l’essor du récent Vacuum (dont on approche la centième), Philippe Saire cultive cette envie de créer des formats à chaque fois réinventés.


Dispositif
Ce nouveau projet s’inscrit dans la série Dispositifs, où des structures spatiales ou lumineuses sont au départ des projets. Si ces pièces portent une attention au mouvement et à une forme de narration, c’est bien l’image qui est à la base du processus créatif.
Pour obtenir une certaine maitrise de la fumée et des images convoquées, le dispositif s’est doté d’un système d’aspiration de la fumée, d’une ventilation, ainsi que de sources de fumée inédites. Par définition difficile à contenir, la fumée se trouve ici cantonnée dans cet espace scénique triangulaire, où il est possible de la faire surgir et disparaître à volonté.
Outre la contrainte spatiale intéressante pour la danse, les parois en point de fuite sont des supports à architecturer la lumière, à accentuer le dégradé de la perspective, et à donner un aspect pictural à l’ensemble de la pièce.
La pièce
Suivant le principe de cette série de création, le travail s’est en parallèle concentré sur l’image et sur la danse. Sur l’image du corps positionné dans cet espace particulier en point de fuite, et sa matérialité en opposition à l’évanescence de la fumée. Sur la façon dont le corps peut interagir avec la fumée, qu’il s’y réfugie ou la fuie, s’y débatte ou en épouse lentement les formes.
Les tableaux de Edward Hopper et ses postures intemporelles des corps avait intuitivement induit le choix d’un duo entre une femme et un homme. La relation entre les deux interprètes, au départ visuelle et spatiale, s’est peu à peu tissée, s’appuyant sur une tension entre l’immatériel et le matériel que le dispositif exprime.
Dans cette série de pièces donc, si une narration advient, s’impose, c’est dans un second temps. Le degré de narration également. Les images somptueuses, qui se sont développées dans la recherche technique, ont contraint les corps à trouver leur juste place, et à ce que dispositif et corps parfois dialoguent et parfois se laissent de la place l’un à l’autre.
Nuages et fumée sont des éléments iconiques de l’imaginaire individuel. Aussi, la narration se veut ouverte, la fumée pouvant être autant assimilée à l’ordre du souvenir que du chimérique.


On ne sait pas de quelle nuit nous venons, ni vers laquelle nous allons. On ne sait pas si nous sommes nés à telle date ou dans le fond des âges. On ne sait pas si nous sommes quelqu'un ou n'importe qui. On ne sait pas si nous portons un nom ou pas. On ne sait pas comment la forêt bruissante de notre enfance est devenue la forêt métallique des villes. On ne sait pas si la lumière braquée sur nous est celle d'un souvenir qui nous obsède ou de l'Etat qui nous arrête. On ne sait pas si le bruit de nos pieds qui marchent est celui de nos os dans notre chair. On ne sait pas si le son qui bat dans nos oreilles provient d'un bal ou de notre cœur. On ne sait pas si notre rire est un cri. On ne sait pas si l'air nous dilate ou nous consume. On ne sait pas si nous devons bouger ou rester immobiles. On ne sait pas si nous devons nous montrer ou nous cacher. On ne sait pas si nous devons chanter ou nous taire. On ne sait pas si nos gesticulations sont l'expression de la vaillance ou de la terreur. On ne sait pas si nos actes sont des convulsions.
On ne sait pas si les murs qui nous entourent sont ceux d'un refuge ou d'une prison. On ne sait pas si le sol est un pan du ciel. On ne sait pas si nos congénères nous veillent ou sont absents. On ne sait pas s'ils nous observent ou sont aveugles. On ne sait pas s'ils nous aiment ou s'ils nous trompent. On ne sait pas si nous avons besoin d'eux pour être seuls. On ne sait pas s'il faut conserver nos traces ou les effacer. On ne sait pas si nous sommes fatigués ou si nous allons mourir. On ne sait pas si nous sommes penchés vers le sol pour y percevoir nos origines ou pour nous y dissoudre. On ne sait pas comment muer le temps qui passe en sentiment d'éternité.On ne sait pas si le souffle qui nous emporte dans la mort est né du vide ou fomenté par les dieux. Ne pas le savoir est sans effet sur ceux qui nous suivent. Ils continuent.

Christophe Gallaz, 2003


Est-ce un sujet que l’étude des images fuyantes ? Les images de l’imagination aérienne, ou bien elles s’évaporent ou bien elles se cristallisent. Et c’est entre les deux pôles de cette ambivalence toujours active qu’il nous faut les saisir. Le mot nuage est tout de suite preuve de cette ambivalence du réel et de l’imaginaire. Le lecteur en fera immédiatement ce qu’il voudra : une vue ou une vision, une réalité dessinée ou un mouvement rêvé. Ce que nous lui demandons, c’est de vivre non seulement cette dialectique, ces états alternés, mais de les réunir dans une ambivalence où l’on comprend que la réalité est une puissance de rêve et que le rêve est une réalité. Hélas ! l’instant de cette antichambre est court. Il faut avouer que bien vite on voit ou que bien vite on rêve. On est alors ou le miroir des formes ou l’esclave muet d’une matière inerte.


Concept et chorégraphie
Philippe Saire


Chorégraphie en collaboration avec les danseurs
Marthe Krummenacher, David Zagari


Création lumières et fumées
Antoine Friderici


Création sonore
Stéphane Vecchione


Costumes
Tania D'Ambrogio


Construction
Hervé Jabveneau


Direction technique
Vincent Scalbert


Photographie et design graphique
Philippe Weissbrodt / matière grise


Soutiens et partenaires
Ville de Lausanne, Canton de Vaud, Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour la culture, Fondation de Famille Sandoz


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ FICHE TECHNIQUE

Dates passées

Lausanne (CH)
25.04.2018
29.04.2018
22.05.2018
25.05.2018
Zürich (CH)
06.10.2018
07.10.2018