×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Actéon spectacle On tour ×

A dance piece by Philippe Saire for four dancers, Actaeon unfolds in the fascinating, strange and controversial world of hunting. The performance reinterprets the eponymous Greek myth, the story of a hunter turned into a stag then torn apart by his hounds.
As it is adapted here, the myth allegorically addresses our relationship with the wild, a certain “utopia of nature”, which is symbolised by the hunter’s views.
60 min


If the desire for “feralness” is indeed an attempt to transcend daily life, the hunter, with all his iconography, becomes an ideal means to question our complex relationship with animals and the wild – our relationship with the strangeness of animals, the unknown, instinct and the uncivilised, predation, letting-go and our place in nature… so many elements that haunt many of us.
Actaeon addresses the world of hunting and uses the myth both as a medium and an outcome, a narrative context and dramaturgic conclusion: the human/wild dialectics (parts 1 & 2 below) and cathartic metamorphosis (part 3).
The first act develops a physical equivalent to the hunters’ views. They stand up for their “sport” by claiming to defend a return to nature, the regulation of wildlife, a sense of community, and a link with tradition, turning hunting into a romantic form of forest tracking. To evoke this utopian relationship with the wild, seldom used codes in contemporary dance are called upon, which refer to a form a naivety: for example, copying the gestures of hunters in action, found on YouTube.
The humorous dimension, which is omnipresent in this first part, contrasts with the seriousness of the discourse and opens it up for debate while highlighting its artificiality.
A simulacrum is not a degraded copy. It harbours a positive power which negates both the original and the copy, the model and the reproduction. It is the triumph of the false pretence. Gilles Deleuze, The Logic of Sense
All this material, interspersed with individual attempts at becoming wild and working on the necessity of the group, leads to a kaleidoscopic transcription of the cynegetic world.
Another register is added to the diversity of forms: songs, written and composed by the choreographer are intoned by the dancers and emphasise the dissonance of the hunters who leave fresh and joyful.
A place of initiatory experiences, pilgrimage and partying… A common denominator: Nature is used to imitate a return to the time of myths […]. If wild and mysterious nature did not exist, we would have to invent it, which is exactly what we do every day. Sergio Dalla Bernardina, The Utopia of Nature (p. 15)
The second act shifts to the tragic violence inherent to hunting. It contrasts with and takes up position against the naivety showcased until then and the denial it contains. As age-old custodians of our origins, two warrior-butchers busy themselves on the stage strewn with animal shapes – a vast charnel house that bears witness to the carnage.
The third and last act focuses on the eponymous legend. Straying from Ovid’s version, Actaeon here chooses to switch sides to join the animals. He becomes prey and finds himself hunted by his own companions, the embodiment of the dogs who devour their master. Actaeon is no longer a victim here but a hero who defends his convictions, risking his life. In this final chapter, the dancers manipulate the lights that are present in the hunt and which generate constantly shifting spaces.
The kaleidoscopic aspect of the performance turns into a form of film editing, while the songs end up sounding like an ancient choir.


The stage is almost bare throughout the performance, except for carcasses made out of fabric strewn across the stage in the 2nd act and LED panels which are manipulated by the dancers.


For a very, very long time, he observes the prey, its excessive precautions, its lack of caution. He feels that he is being forced to perform a role, like he too has been cornered into a trap. He cannot escape anywhere. […] When his rage subsides, he has shot three males and six females. The fawns who are faster, have fled. The haunch of a dying doe quivers. […] He should finish the doe off, sit down, breathe, try to understand what happened, decide what to do with so much meat and ease his trembling hands. If only he could be struck by lightning right here right now. If only he had not got up this morning. If only his weapon had jammed, his rifle had exploded and shards had pierced his eyes, a deer had trampled him, he had slipped, his heart had stopped beating, his hands had become paralysed. If only these questions could stop, he could wake up, all this could be but a nightmare, he could learn to beat that rage within him, he knew how to resist, he could give up hunting, he would not react like an angry dog sniffing blood, none of all this were real, none of it, oh no, not real, he thinks as the tears swell up. He cannot remember ever crying in the last ten years, so he cries, stupefied, stupid, stunned. He finally cries about what he did not cry about in the past: the death of his wife, the loss of his children, his life. He cries a thousand times about what he should have cried about for such a long time. He cries, the idiot, but his tears do not inflate the empty lungs of the animals, his grief does not bring movement to what his dumb bullets have made stiff. He cries and he knows he will go home alone. He will take the shower he delayed taking, absentmindedly stroke the cat, and he will never admit to anyone what happened in the forest. He walks, behind him a doe is slowly dying, the fawns will die of hunger without their guide, the animals will rot, they will be ripped apart by scavengers, their hide torn off, nothing but their enigmatic bones will remain as a testimony that something terrible happened at the foot of the cliff. He won’t even eat their flesh. He only wishes for a burning-hot shower, as if the water could wash away his deep wounds. He walks in the stench of death.


Concept & choreography
Philippe Saire


Chorégraphie en collaboration avec les danseursChoreography in collaboration with dancers
Gyula Cserepes, Pierre Piton, Denis Robert, David Zagari


Production assistant
Chady Abu-Nijmeh


Lighting design
Philippe Saire, Vincent Scalbert


Sound design
Stéphane Vecchione


Costumes & accessories
Julie Chapallaz, Nadia Cuénoud


Technical director
Vincent Scalbert


Sound management
Basile Weber


Graphic design & photography
matière grise | Philippe Weissbrodt


Video
Pierre-Yves Borgeaud


Translation
AJS Cracker


Sponsorship & partners
City of Lausanne, Canton de Vaud, Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council, Loterie Romande, Fondation de Famille Sandoz, Ernst Goehner Stiftung Cie Philippe Saire is the resident company at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne.


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ TECHNICAL RIDER

Dates to come

Lausanne (CH)
06.02.2019
07.02.2019
Wiesbaden (DE)
16.03.2019
16.03.2019

Past dates

Lausanne (CH)
14.11.2018
25.11.2018

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

en résidence permanente au Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

×

Cie Philippe Saire
Av. de Sévelin 36
1004 Lausanne
Suisse

en résidence permanente au Théâtre Sévelin 36

+41 21 620 00 12 info@philippesaire.ch

Newsletter

Actéon spectacle En tournée ×

Pièce chorégraphique de Philippe Saire pour 4 danseurs, Actéon prend place dans l’univers fascinant, étrange et controversé de la chasse. La pièce adapte librement le mythe grec d’Actéon ; l’histoire de ce chasseur métamorphosé en cerf, puis déchiqueté par ses chiens. Tel qu’il est ici interprété, le mythe questionne de façon allégorique notre rapport au sauvage, une certaine utopie de la nature dont le discours du chasseur se fait l’emblème.
60 min


Si le désir d’ensauvagement est bien une tentative de transcendance de son quotidien, le chasseur, avec toute son iconographie , devient idéal pour incarner notre relation complexe à l’animal et au sauvage. Rapport à l’étrangeté de l’animal, à l’inconnu, à l’instinct et au non policé, à la prédation, au lâcher-prise, à notre place dans la nature... autant d’éléments qui habitent beaucoup d’entre nous.
Le spectacle Actéon aborde le monde de la chasse et utilise le mythe tout à la fois comme support et comme dénouement ; comme contexte de narration et comme conclusion dramaturgique : la dialectique homme/sauvage (partie 1 & 2 ci-dessous) et la métamorphose cathartique (partie 3).
Le premier temps de la pièce développe physiquement un équivalent au discours des chasseurs. Ils défendent leur pratique en se réclamant du retour à la nature, de la régulation de la faune, d’une communauté retrouvée, d’un lien à la tradition… et font de la chasse une romantique traque forestière. Pour évoquer ces rapports utopiques au sauvage, des codes peu usités dans la danse contemporaine sont mobilisés et renvoient à une forme de naïveté : par exemple une copie de la gestuelle des chasseurs en action, trouvée sur YouTube.
La dimension humoristique, très présente dans cette première partie, permet de contraster avec la gravité des propos, d’ouvrir un dialogue avec eux tout en mettant en lumière leur artificialité.
Le simulacre n’est pas une copie dégradée, il recèle une puissance positive qui nie et l’original et la copie, et le modèle et la reproduction. C’est le triomphe du faux prétendant. Gilles Deleuze, Logique du Sens
De toutes ces matières, entrecoupées de tentatives individuelles d’ensauvagement et d’un travail sur la nécessité du groupe, découle une transcription kaléidoscopique de l’univers cynégétique.
Un autre registre s’ajoute à cette diversité de formes : des chants, écrits et composés par le chorégraphe, sont entonnés par les danseurs et viennent accentuer la dissonance des chasseurs partant fleur au fusil.
Lieu d’expériences initiatiques, de pèlerinage, de fête… un dénominateur commun: la nature est utilisée pour mimer le retour au temps du mythe [...] si la nature sauvage et mystérieuse n’existait pas, il nous faudrait l’inventer. C’est bien d’ailleurs ce que nous faisons chaque jour. L’utopie de la nature Sergio Dalla Bernardina, p. 15
La deuxième partie bascule sur la violence tragique inhérente à la chasse. Elle constitue le contrepoint autant qu’une prise de position face à la naïveté jusque-là mise en avant, et au déni qu’elle contient. En dépositaires immémoriaux de nos origines, deux bouchers-guerriers s’activent sur la scène jonchée de formes animales – vaste charnier témoin des carnages.
Le troisième et dernier acte se concentre sur la légende éponyme. S’éloignant de la version ovidienne, Actéon fait ici le choix de changer de camp pour rejoindre celui des bêtes. Il devient proie, et se trouve poursuivi par ses propres compagnons, incarnation des chiens qui dévorent leur maître. Actéon n’est ici plus victime, mais héros défendant ses convictions au péril de sa vie. Dans ce dernier chapitre, les danseurs manipulent les lumières qui participent à la traque et génèrent des espaces en constants bouleversements.
L’aspect kaléidoscopique de la pièce se mue en une forme de montage cinématographique, et les chants prennent figure de chœur antique.


Le plateau est quasiment nu tout au long de la pièce : seules des carcasses en tissu jonchent le plateau dans le 2ème acte, et des panneaux LED sont maniés par les danseurs.


Longtemps, très longtemps, il observe les proies, leurs précautions excessives, l’absence de méfiance. Il sent que l’on veut lui faire jouer un rôle. Il a l’impression d’avoir été lui aussi acculé à un piège. Nulle part, il ne peut fuir. (...) Quand sa fureur prend fin, il a abattu trois mâles et six femelles. Les faons -plus rapides- ont fui. Le train arrière d’une biche à l’agonie tressaute. (...) Il faudrait qu’il achève la biche, qu’il s’assoit, qu’il respire, qu’il comprenne ce qui s’est passé, qu’il décide quoi faire de tant de viande, qu’il calme le tremblement de ses mains, qu’il soit foudroyé à l’instant, qu’il ne se soit pas levé ce matin, que l’arme se soit enrayée, que le fusil ait explosé en lardant d’éclats ses yeux, qu’un cerf l’ai piétiné, qu’il ait glissé, que son cœur se soit arrêté de battre, que ses mains se soient paralysées, que les questions s’arrêtent, qu’il se réveille, que tout ceci soit un cauchemar, qu’il apprenne à combattre la rage en lui, qu’il sache résister, qu’il renonce à la chasse, qu’il ne réagisse pas comme un chien endêvé flairant le sang, que rien ne se soit déroulé pour de vrai, que ce ne soit pas vrai, oh, non, pas vrai, pense-t-il alors que les larmes s’accumulent. Il n’a pas le souvenir d’avoir pleuré depuis des dizaines d’années, alors il pleure, hébété, stupide, ahuri, il pleure enfin ce qu’il n’a pas pleuré autrefois : la mort de son épouse, la rupture d’avec ses enfants, sa vie, il pleure mille fois ce qu’il aurait dû pleurer depuis si longtemps. Il pleure, l’idiot, sans que ses larmes viennent regonfler les poumons vidés des animaux, sans que son chagrin ne vienne redonner du mouvement à ce que la sottise de ses balles a rigidifié. Il pleure et il sait qu’il rentrera seul chez lui, qu’il prendra enfin la douche reportée, qu’il caressera le chat machinalement et qu’il n’avouera jamais à quiconque ce qui s’est passé dans la forêt. ?Il marche, dans son dos une biche n’en finit plus d’agoniser, les faons enfuis mourront de faim de n’être plus guidés, des animaux vont pourrir, être tailladés par des charognards, être lavés de leur chair, devenir d’énigmatiques os qui témoigneront qu’une chose terrible s’est déroulée au pied de la falaise. Il ne mangera même pas leur viande. Il ne souhaite que la brûlure qu’une chose terrible s’est déroulée au pied de la falaise. Il ne mangera même pas leur viande. Il ne souhaite que la brûlure d’une douche, comme si l’eau pourrait encore nettoyer ses blessures profondes, il marche dans l’odeur de la mort.


Concept et chorégraphie
Philippe Saire


Chorégraphie en collaboration avec les danseurs
Gyula Cserepes, Pierre Piton, Denis Robert, David Zagari


Assistanat à la création
Chady Abu-Nijmeh


Création lumières
Philippe Saire, Vincent Scalbert


Création sonore
Stéphane Vecchione


Costumes et accessoires
Julie Chapallaz, Nadia Cuénoud


Direction technique
Vincent Scalbert


Régie son
Basile Weber


Design graphique et photographies
matière grise | Philippe Weissbrodt


Vidéo
Pierre-Yves Borgeaud


Soutiens et partenaires
Ville de Lausanne, Canton de Vaud, Pro Helvetia, Loterie Romande, Fondation de Famille Sandoz, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Corodis. La Cie Philippe Saire est compagnie résidente au Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne.


↳ PHOTOS HD
↳ FICHE TECHNIQUE

Dates à venir

Lugano (CH)
25.01.2020
25.01.2020

Dates passées

Lausanne (CH)
14.11.2018
25.11.2018
Lausanne (CH)
06.02.2019
07.02.2019
Wiesbaden (DE)
16.03.2019
16.03.2019