The Company

From its foundation in 1986, the Philippe Saire Company has created some thirty shows, with more than 1,000 performances in 200 cities across Europe, Africa, Asia, the Middle East and America.

VacarmeÉtude sur la LégèretéVie et Mœurs du Caméléon Nocturne, La Haine de la Musique, Les Affluents[ob]seen, Could I just draw your attention to the brevity of life?, Cartographies and Black Out are some of the productions that have enabled Cie Philippe Saire to build an international reputation.

The Company also performs regularly at art galleries, in gardens, urban spaces and other outdoor venues. From 2002 to 2012, the Cartographies project, which combines performances and video production, has born witness to Saire’s constant desire to get dance out of the interior performing space. The 11 in situ choreographies, filmed by 9 producers from French-speaking Switzerland, including Lionel Baier, Fernand Melgar, Bruno Deville, Pierre-Yves Borgeaud and Philippe Saire himself, were shown 300 times in festivals around the world.

This taste for experimentation also led to the creation of a an ongoing series called Dispositifs with choreographies on the verge of visual arts: In Black Out (creation 2011, 150th performance in 2015!), the movements of the dancers draw shapes in some black substance on stage while the audience watch from above. NEONS (2014) stages a couple dancing in a world of lights and shadows. With Vacuum, Saire explores further the visual perception of movement with lyrical and inspiring result, as it moves forward through the history of art, from Renaissance paintings to photographic development.

Cie Philippe Saire is in permanent residency at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne.

La Compagnie

Depuis la fondation de la Compagnie Philippe Saire en 1986, une trentaine de créations ont vu le jour et plus de 1’200 représentations ont été données dans plus de 200 villes à travers le monde.

VacarmeÉtude sur la LégèretéVie et Mœurs du Caméléon NocturneLa Haine de la MusiqueLes Affluents[ob]seen, Est-ce que je peux me permettre d’attirer votre attention sur la brièveté de la vie?, Cartographies, Black Out comptent parmi les travaux qui ont permis à la Compagnie Philippe Saire d’acquérir une notoriété au-delà des frontières suisses.

Elle se produit régulièrement dans des expositions, galeries d’art, jardins, espaces urbains et autres lieux extérieurs à la scène. Conduit de 2002 à 2012, le projet Cartographies, mêlant performances en ville de Lausanne et création vidéo, témoigne de cette envie de sortir la danse des murs du théâtre. Les 11 chorégraphies in situ ont été filmées par 9 réalisateurs romands dont Lionel Baier, Fernand Melgar, Bruno Deville, Pierre-Yves Borgeaud et Philippe Saire lui-même, et projetées 300 fois dans les festivals de film de par le monde.

Ce goût pour l’expérimentation a aussi conduit à la création de la série en cours Dispositifs regroupant des pièces courtes proches des arts visuels. Dans Black Out (création 2011 et 150e représentation en 2015!), le mouvement des danseurs dessine des formes dans une matière noire et le public est placé en surplomb. NEONS (création 2014) montre un couple se mouvant dans un jeu de noir et de lumière. Plus récemment, Vacuum (création 2015) voit deux danseurs flotter littéralement entre deux tubes de néon placés horizontalement.

La Cie Philippe Saire est compagnie résidente au Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne.

Elle fête ses 30 ans en 2016!