Archive

2016

CUT

CUT is a dance piece that stems from a particular stage device as well as from the audience’s position. Philippe Saire literally cuts the audience and the stage in two and establishes a very unusual relationship between the audience and the performance. The audience are presented with two distinct sides..

2015

Vacuum

Coproduction Théâtre National de Chaillot, La Bâtie-Festival de Genève 25 min. Vacuum generates impossible images and fantastic paintings, an interplay of bodies appearing and disappearing between black holes and dazzling lights. This duo is the third part in a series of performances called Dispositifs (‘stage devices’), in convergence with visual arts...

2014

UTOPIA MIA

This isn’t a militant play or a hippy play. This isn’t a play about the 70s. This isn’t a play about the history of utopia through the centuries. The simple idea of utopia arouses opinions and desires, and everyone has his own. Philippe Saire’s is deeply personal. A performance for..

2014

NEONS Never Ever, Oh! Noisy Shadows

Premiere at Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne January 17th, 2014, 40 min. A choreography for two dancers, with LED ticker displays and neon lights as only light source, NEONS Never Ever, Oh! Noisy Shadows deals with intimacy and separation, and verges on visual arts, following in the steps of 2011’s Black Out. NEONS..

2013

La Dérive des continents

This piece is in french language. Première au far° festival des arts vivants Nyon 7 août 2013 Coproduction Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne & FAR° 100 min Une pièce théâtrale de Philippe Saire pour quatre interprètes Sur un texte original d’Antoinette Rychner, en co-écriture avec les interprètes   Ecouter l’émission: Avec La Dérive des continents, pièce..

2012

Transfigured Night

Premiere at Opéra de Lausanne November 2nd, 2012, 55 min. The night’s delicate subtleties are followed by the crushing state of dawn. When Philippe Saire throws himself into Schönberg’s musical score, he transcends all notions of space and time, and it’s a great success. Nathalie Yokel, La Terrasse For its autumn..

2011

Black Out

Premiere at Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne November 18th, 2011, 40 min. Black Out has celebrated its 170th show in 2016 and carries on with dense touring around the world. Somewhere between dance, performance and visual arts, this dark piece presents a very unusual set that is putting the spectators above..

2010

I wish I could believe you

Première at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, November 23rd, 2010. Rerun 2012. Choreography for 6 dancers. Within the plot, as the numbers tick away in a persistent sequined stream, there’s another, more sombre plot. What is going on here is a conspiracy. Let’s imagine the dancers on stage as the instruments of an outrageous and..

2009

Lonesome Cowboy

Premiere at Festival La Bâtie, Geneva, September 1st, 2009. Rerun 2012. Choreography for 6 dancers. Research on masculinity With his dancers, Philippe Saire questions the masculine identity and explores, in a playful way, how both individuals and groups function. By using play and clearly defined rules, Lonesome Cowboy approaches notions such as team spirit, solidarity, confrontation,..

2008

Il faut que je m’absente (I really have to go now)

Première at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, November 5th, 2008. Choreography for 5 dancers. Created in November 2008 for a three week season at the Théâtre Sévelin 36 in Lausanne, Il faut que je m’absente (I really have to go now) is the second piece in a trilogy of works about the codes..


2005

Sang d’Encre

Première at basel tanzt 05, Basel, September 23rd, 2005. Choreography for 6 dancers. Our longing for a fantasized sense of security dictates far more than we may care to realise. If you consider fear as one of the foundations of social relations and a major motivator of our actions, then everything seems..

2003

[ob]seen

Première at CCN / Festival Le Temps d’aimer in Biarritz (F), September 16th, 2003. Choreography for 6 dancers. With [ob]seen, Philippe Saire reflects upon the limits within which audiences feel at ease. What is it desirable to reveal, what is better hidden ? Where does modesty end, indecency begin ? Today the rule is..

2003

Jour de fuite

Première at Théâtre Sévelin 36, March 5th, 2003. A solo performance by Philippe Saire. Philippe Saire returns to the stage. In his new work, where he is also the dancer, Philippe Saire confronts, for the third time, the challenge of the solo performance. This choreography mirrors our times : each one of..

2001

Les Affluents

Première at Centre Chorégraphique National de Franche-Comté, Belfort (F), September 21st, 2001. Choreography for 8 dancers. In 2001, Philippe Saire and the Company’s eight dancers created two new productions. The two works are each a part of the same self-ques-tioning process, an interrogation into identity, restlessness, risk-taking, and the difficulty of asserting..

2001

Impostures

Première at Théâtre Sévelin 36, May 9th, 2001. Soli for 5 or 8 dancers. In 2001, Philippe Saire and the Company’s eight dancers have been working on two new productions: Impostures and Les Affluents. The two works are each a part of the same self-questioning process, an interrogation into identity, restlessness, risk-taking,..

2000

La Haine de la Musique (The Hatred of Music)

Première at Luzernertheater, Lucerne, May 6th, 2000. Choreography for 10 dancers. Inspired by Pascal Quignard’s book “La Haine de la Musique”.  “To keep slaves, one needs the most music possible.” (Tolstoy) A performance about music, not a choreographer’s private thoughts on a particular musical work, but rather an investigation into my personal..

1999

Faust

Première at Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, January 24th, 1999. Choreography for 9 dancers. The legend. Retelling the story of Faust – which along with Don Quixote and Don Juan is one of European culture’s greatest legends – is a great challenge, not only because of the sheer number of already existing..

1998

Etude sur la légèreté

Première at Gesnerallee, Zurich, January 7th, 1998. Choreography for 6 dancers. “All of our acts, extraordinary or everyday – and particularly the everyday – whether we open a door, write a letter, offer a hand, should be done with no less care than if the fate of the world and the courses..

1996

Petites catastrophes naturelles (Small natural disasters)

Premiere at festival Théâtres d’été in Nyon, August 16th, 1996. Choreography for 4 dancers. Small natural disasters is a return to Philippe Saire’s more narrative style. This piece is indeed a “story” that of a relationship which, because of its triangular nature, prevents desires ever being fully satisfied. As in Harold Pinter’s Betrayal, the characters’ interactions become..

1995

Le Palindrome

Première at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, September 26th, 1995. Triptych for five dancers, Le Palindrome is a dialogue between dance and visual arts, resulting from the collaboration between Philippe Saire and three Swiss artists: Francine Simonin, Carmen Perrin and Arnold Helbling. Palindrome: n., a word, verse or sentence as “able was I ere saw..

1994

Vacarme

Première at Festival de la Cité, Lausanne, July 1st, 1994. Choreography for 5 dancers. La Nébuleuse du Crabe, created in February 1994, was about these games-modes-rules we participate to, and which we are not conscious of. From the beginning, Vacarme has been conceived as dealing with the same topic. However, the structure, the final form, the number of performers are..

1994

La Nébuleuse du Crabe

Première at theatre Arsenic, Lausanne, February 23rd, 1994. Choreography for 10 dancers et 2 actors. In the light of game and proliferation, the civilized man appears like a puppet, a moving toy. Between past and present, real and fake, the dancers may ask the question to know where the game..

1993

L’Alibi et le Topographe

Première at Festival Théâtres d’été de Nyon, August 1993. Rerun at Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, April 1996. Solo of Philippe Saire. A montage of texts and gestures that can be seen as the dynamic illustration of what dance also is:  not only a machine processing emotions but also a way to draw a cartography of the..

1992

Nouvelles

Première at theatre Arsenic, Lausanne, November 25th, 1992. Nouvelles is very freely inspired of Marguerite Duras’ world, not as narrative, but rather because Duras “gives to see”. One could speak of reader’s impression – which is printed in the head of a reader – in the body of a dancer. What..

1991

Vie et Moeurs du Caméléon Nocturne

Open-air première at Festival de la Cité, Lausanne, July 2nd, 1991. Rerun at Festival de la Cité, Lausanne, July 1999. The idea for this choreography has its roots in a long-held fascination for “Midsummer Night’s Dream ” – probably due to the highly choreographic character of Shakespeare’s play, and the spatial..

1990

Don Quixote

Première at theatre Arsenic, Lausanne, October 31st, 1990. Let us leave the imagery there where it is to be found – among souvenir shops, or buried in children’s books. There, where Don Quixote resembles the images of our creation, there where we already no longer resemble our own. Let us talk about..

1989

L’Ombre du Doute

Première at Centre culturel suisse in Paris, November 14th 1989. Show for 3 dancers and 2 screens. Besides the desire to confront the dance to another code: the projected image, L’Ombre du Doute (The Shadow of doubt) wants to be a nod to the universe of the 50’s thriller. “A woman and..

1989

Ah! Finir…

Première at Théâtre Arsenic, Lausanne, April 13th, 1989. Choreography for 5 dancers, Ah! Finir… is a show about the juxtaposition of two passions, one sacred, the other profane, and their interferences. “This is the monstrosity in love, lady, that the will is infinite and the execution confined; that the desire is boundless,..

1988

3 x Rien

Première complete (3 acts) at Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, March 25th, 1988. Based on the common theme of obstruction and reminiscence, 3 acts are brought together in a show. 1st act: Rien qu’une poussière dans l’oeil  – two women and a man, première on November 12th 1987, order from the Fondation vaudoise..

1987

Paresseux Vertiges
ou “Brefs Mouvements du bas du visage”

Première at Théâtre des Trois P’tits Tours, Morges, April 24th, 1987. Solo dance-theatre based on texts from Samuel Beckett’s book Stories and texts for nothing. A series of shorts pieces, often violent. Dance, mime and contorsions mixed with a brilliant and sharp monologue. Where one tries to demonstrate that illusion: A – is necessary B..

1986

Encore Torride

Première at Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, November 26th, 1988, 70 min. Choreography for six dancers. Encore Torride, an allegory of elevation and fall, deals with illusion. With Icarus’ myth as a starting point.

Archive

2016

CUT

CUT est une pièce chorégraphique dont le dispositif spatial et la situation du spectateur sont les décisions premières. Philippe Saire coupe le public et la scène en deux, littéralement, et installe un rapport scène-salle inhabituel. Le public reçoit successivement les deux facettes d’une même histoire. Il voit d’abord la pièce..

2015

Vacuum

Coproduction Théâtre National de Chaillot, La Bâtie-Festival de Genève, 25 min. Vacuum génère des images impossibles et des peintures fantastiques. Un jeu d’apparitions et de disparitions des corps, entre trou noir et éblouissement. Ce duo est le troisième volet d’une série en cours appelée Dispositifs, en convergence avec les arts visuels. Après Black Out..

2014

UTOPIA MIA

Ceci n’est pas une pièce militante, ceci n’est pas une pièce hippie, ceci n’est pas une pièce sur les années 1970, ceci n’est pas une pièce sur l’histoire des utopies à travers les époques. C’est une approche et une vision personnelle du propos. Création pour 3 danseurs et 2 danseuses,..

2014

NEONS Never Ever, Oh! Noisy Shadows

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne, 17 janvier 2014, 40 min. Avec deux danseurs, des journaux lumineux et des néons pour seules lumières, NEONS Never Ever, Oh ! Noisy Shadows se joue entre ombre et lumière et traite de l’intimité et de la séparation. Une pièce forte et graphique qui se rapproche des arts visuels,..

2013

La Dérive des continents

Première au far° festival des arts vivants Nyon, 7 août 2013. Coproduction Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne & far° 100 min. Une pièce théâtrale de Philippe Saire pour quatre interprètes. Sur un texte original d’Antoinette Rychner, en co-écriture avec les interprètes.   Ecouter l’émission: Avec La Dérive des continents, pièce pour quatre interprètes, Philippe Saire..

2012

La Nuit transfigurée

Première à l’Opéra de Lausanne, 2 novembre 2012, 55 min. « Les délicates subtilités de la nuit suivies de l’éclat cinglant de l’aube. Quand Philippe Saire s’engouffre dans la partition de Schönberg, c’est pour mieux aller au-delà d’un espace-temps. Une belle réussite. » Nathalie Yokel, La Terrasse, Paris. Commande de l’Opéra de..

2011

Black Out

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36 Lausanne, 18 novembre 2011, 40 min. Black Out a fêté sa 170e représentation en 2016 et continue son parcours sur la scène internationale. Cette pièce sombre au dispositif original, entre danse et arts visuels, est une véritable expérience pour le public qui y assiste en surplomb...

2010

Je veux bien vous croire

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, le 23 novembre 2010. Reprise 2012. Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. Avec cette nouvelle création, Philippe Saire poursuit son travail sur les codes du divertissement et termine ainsi une trilogie de pièces d’apparence légère, dont le premier opus a été créé en 2006 avec Est-ce..

2009

Lonesome Cowboy

Création au Festival de la Bâtie, Genève, le 1er septembre 2009. Reprise 2012. Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. Dans cette pièce à l’énergie pulsionnelle et à la charge érotique forte, la Compagnie Philippe Saire remet au centre de son langage chorégraphique le mouvement. Mouvement brut, efficace, puissant, qui nourrit l’imaginaire en le..

2008

Il faut que je m’absente

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, le 5 novembre 2008. Chorégraphie pour 5 danseurs. Cette création constitue le deuxième opus d’une trilogie sur les codes du divertissement, dont la première partie a été créée en 2006 avec Est-ce que je peux me permettre d’attirer votre attention sur la brièveté de la..

2006

Est-ce que je peux me permettre d’attirer votre attention sur la brièveté de la vie?

Première à l’Opéra de Lausanne, le 26 novembre 2006. Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. Notre besoin de détachement. Notre faculté à nous divertir. Hors du poids, du noir, du morose. L’envie légitime de l’enchantement. Le désir d’euphorie. La vie comme une perpétuelle distraction. La danse contemporaine, ludique et tendre. Alors une..

2005

Sang d’Encre

Première à basel tanzt 05, Bâle, le 23 septembre 2005. Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. Notre désir d’une sécurité fantasmée dicte beaucoup plus de choses que nous ne le réalisons. Si l’on considère la peur comme l’un des fondements du lien social et comme un moteur majeur de nos actes, tout..

2003

[ob]seen

Première le 16 septembre 2003 au CCN / Festival Le Temps d’aimer à Biarritz (F). Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. Avec [ob]seen, Philippe Saire questionne les limites de ce qui peut être montré. Regardé. Ou non. Il pose la question: où se situe l’impudeur? Ceci alors que la règle, aujourd’hui est celle de..

2003

Jour de fuite

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36, le 5 mars 2003. Solo créé et interprété par Philippe Saire. Dans cette pièce, le chorégraphe interroge la mise en représentation et l’illusion des certitudes. Un solo en éloge au flou, au trouble et à l’ombre. Créateur et interprète de Jour de fuite, il se..

2001

Les Affluents

Première au Centre Chorégraphique National de Franche-Comté, Belfort (F), le 21 septembre 2001. Chorégraphie pour 8 danseurs. Les Affluents, c’est la réunion de huit individus. Posés là, convoqués à se rencontrer. Amenés, comme nous le sommes tous, à un partage public. Les Affluents, ce sont des gens qui font l’expérience..

2001

Impostures

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36, le 9 mai 2001. Soli pour 5 ou 8 danseurs. Une série de portraits, de soli. L’immersion dans autant d’univers personnel, d’intimités. La rencontre avec autant de personnages que d’interprètes. L’appropriation d’un rôle pour mieux se dévoiler. L’imposture pour se livrer. Une recherche non-naturaliste de..

2000

La Haine de la Musique

Première au Luzernertheater, Lucerne, le 6 mai 2000. Chorégraphie pour 10 danseurs. « Là où on veut avoir des esclaves, il faut le plus de musique possible. » (Tolstoï) La musique. D’où nous est-elle venue? Elle est issue de l’intérieur de notre corps, de nos rythmes internes de vie, elle nous est essentielle...

1999

Faust

Première au Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, le 24 janvier 1999. Chorégraphie pour 9 danseurs. Le Mythe. S’affronter à l’un des trois grands mythes de notre civilisation – avec Don Quichote et Don Juan – a quelque chose d’effrayant. De par la profusion d’œuvres qu’il a suscitées, de par aussi la..

1998

Etude sur la légèreté

Première à la Gesnerallee de Zurich, le 7 janvier 1998. Chorégraphie pour 6 danseurs. On peut le tourner et le retourner comme on le veut: un homme reste un homme – et un oiseau un oiseau! L’un est soumis à la pesanteur, l’autre aussi mais dispose d’une paire d’ailes. Et quand..

1996

Petites catastrophes naturelles

Première au festival Théâtres d’été de Nyon, le 16 août 1996. Chorégraphie pour quatre danseurs. Petites catastrophes naturelles renoue avec la veine plus narrative des spectacles de Philippe Saire. C’est bien une « histoire » que nous suivons ici, celle d’une relation triangulaire aux désirs insatisfaits. A la manière de Trahisons de..

1995

Le Palindrome

Première au Théâtre Sévelin 36, Lausanne, le 26 septembre 1995. Triptyque pour cinq danseurs, Le Palindrome est un dialogue entre danse et arts plastiques, fruit de la collaboration de Philippe Saire avec trois artistes suisses : Francine Simonin, Carmen Perrin et Arnold Helbling. Palindrome : n. m. et adj. (fr. palin,..

1994

Vacarme

Première au Festival de la Cité, Lausanne, le 1er juillet 1994. Chorégraphie pour 5 danseurs. La Nébuleuse du Crabe, créée en février 1994, parlait de ces jeux-modes-règles-mouvances auxquels nous participons, et qui nous échappent. Dès le départ, Vacarme a été pensé comme traitant ces mêmes thèmes. Toutefois, la structure, la..

1994

La Nébuleuse du Crabe

Première à l’Arsenic, Lausanne, le 23 février 1994. Chorégraphie pour 10 danseurs et 2 acteurs. Sous le signe du jeu et du foisonnement, l’homme civilisé apparaît comme une marionnette, un jouet mobile. Entre le passé et le présent, le vrai et le faux, les danseurs poseront peut-être la question de..

1993

L’Alibi et le Topographe

Première aux Théâtres d’été de Nyon, août 1993. Reprise au Théâtre Sévelin 36 en avril 1996. Solo de Philippe Saire. Un montage de textes et de gestes qui peut être pris comme l’illustration dynamique de ce qu’est aussi la danse: pas seulement une machine à usiner les émotions mais aussi..

1992

Nouvelles

Première à l’Arsenic, Lausanne, le 25 novembre 1992. Nouvelles s’inspire très librement de l’univers de Marguerite Duras, non pas comme trame narrative, mais plutôt parce que Duras « donne à voir ». On pourrait parler d’impression de lecture, de ce qui s’imprime dans la tête d’un lecteur, dans le corps d’un danseur...

1991

Vie et Moeurs du Caméléon Nocturne

Première en plein air au Festival de la Cité, Lausanne, le 2 juillet 1991. Recréée en juillet 1999, au Festival de la Cité, Lausanne. Une vieille fascination pour Songe d’une nuit d’été de Shakespeare, probablement à cause de son caractère profondément chorégraphique, de par son jeu sur l’espace, de par les..

1990

Don Quixote

Première à l’Arsenic, à Lausanne, le 31 octobre 1990. Laissons son imagerie là où elle se trouve, dans les boutiques à souvenirs, ou collée au fond de nos livres d’enfants. Là où Don Quichotte colle à l’image que nous nous faisons de lui, là où déjà nous ne collons plus..

1989

L’Ombre du Doute

Première au Centre culturel suisse de Paris, le 14 novembre 1989. Spectacle pour 3 danseurs et 2 écrans. Outre l’envie de confronter la danse à un autre code, l’image projetée, L’Ombre du doute se veut un clin d’oeil à l’univers du film policier des années 50. « Une femme et son..

1989

Ah! Finir…

Première au Théâtre Arsenic, Lausanne, le 13 avril 1989. Chorégraphie pour 5 danseurs, Ah! Finir… est un spectacle sur la juxtaposition de deux passions, l’une sacrée, l’autre profane, et leurs interférences. « La monstruosité en amour, c’est que la volonté est infinie, l’exécution restreinte, c’est que le désir est sans borne..

1988

3 x Rien

Première complète (les 3 acts) au Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, le 25 mars 1988. Sous le thème commun de l’obstruction et de la réminiscence, trois actes réunis dans un spectacle. 1er acte: Rien qu’une poussière dans l’oeil  (deux femmes et un homme), créé le 12 novembre 1987, commande de la Fondation vaudoise pour la..

1987

Paresseux Vertiges
ou « Brefs Mouvements du bas du visage »

Première au Théâtre des Trois P’tits Tours, Morges, le 24 avril 1987. Solo danse-théâtre sur des textes de Samuel Beckett (Nouvelles et textes pour rien). Une succession de tableaux brefs, souvent violents, danse, mime et contorsions mêlés à un monologue brillant et incisif. Où l’on essaie de démontrer que l’illusoire: A..

1986

Encore Torride

Première au Théâtre Municipal de Lausanne, 26 novembre 1988, 70 min. Chorégraphie pour six danseurs. Encore Torride, allégorie de l’élévation et de la chute, traite de l’illusoire. Avec pour point de départ le mythe d’Icare. « Au travers de parcelles de rêves, d’espoirs ténus, de légers vertiges transparaît la trame d’une célébration, probablement..